My Interview with Love Yoga Founder Megs Jamieson

14341885_10154458190663788_799071510_n

Megs Jamieson is an amazing yoga instructor, reiki teacher and the founder of Love Yoga. I have had the pleasure of not only being one of her students but more recently interviewing her about her journey into yoga and tips for any potential yogis out there.

Keep reading right to the end of the interview where we will be sharing details of an exciting new project Megs and myself will be working together on!

How did you first get interested in yoga?

I was in college when I first got introduced to yoga. A friend of mine went regularly and said that she thought it could be a good fit for me. My first class (and several after) were a bit of a disaster. I was wobbly, inflexible, uncoordinated. But what had me hooked was the feeling after class was done, it was like nothing I had ever experienced before.

How many years have you been teaching and how did you get into teaching?

I got into teaching yoga to help people heal. I was hospitalized for anxiety and a panic attack years ago and that really woke me up. I know how stress can impact your life and sneak up on you without really realizing it. That is when my practice really deepened and I did my teacher training.

What do you love most about teaching yoga?

My favourite thing about teaching yoga is watching the personal transformation during the practice. Watching people step away from the stress and the stories they live off their mats and settle into their breath and relax into their bodies.

What do you love most about practicing yoga and yoga itself?

I love arriving to my mat and letting intuition guide me. My practice is so different day to day, sometimes I want to spend a long time moving and sweating on my mat, then other days I spend 5-10 minutes simply focused on breath work. Yoga has and continues to draw me down a path of self-discovery, there is always more to learn and explore.

 14331785_10154458197208788_1477145607_n

What is the greatest challenge you have overcome because of yoga?

Yoga has taught me to be comfortable in my own skin, my practice has built my self-confidence, strengthened my creativity and taught me how to handle my stress. I wouldn’t say that because of yoga I no longer have stress in my life but I know what to do when it creeps up, it’s a very comforting feeling.

What advice do you have for people who have never tried yoga as some people may feel intimidated by it?

This is absolutely OK, I was nervous when I first started as well, but my Mum said something when I was younger that always stuck with me: “you never know until you try”. So why not try? Take a leap of faith and trust in yourself and try something new. There is a yoga teacher and a yoga style out there waiting for you.

What in your opinion are the greatest health benefits of doing yoga?

So many! Yoga promotes weight loss, increases flexibility, combats stress, and detoxes the system. But if I had to pick one…..for me, it is mental health and well-being which is often under-valued.

What impact can diet and lifestyle have on yoga practice?

Personally, I found that yoga can actually change your diet and lifestyle, not the other way around. Do not feel like you need to conform yourself to fit yoga. Yoga teaches us to respect ourselves and through the physical and mental connection you build with yourself you start to understand what feels good for YOUR body.

14365448_10154458195373788_1039093302_n

What tips can you offer for avoiding injuries in yoga and getting the most health benefits out of it?

The best advice, and one that I try to give in every class, is that you need to listen to your body. You are your ultimate teacher, you know when something does not feel right and it is so important to honor that and remember we are not all made the same! So, take your practice slow, listen to your body and if you are ever unsure ask for help.

Where can people find you and your classes?

I have my own business called Love Yoga where I travel out to your home and teach you. Classes are designed with you in mind, your time, your home with your intentions built around the structure of the class. You can also catch me at Discover Your Yoga on Broadway in Orangeville. Find more online: facebook; loveyoga.ca and Instagram @canadian_yoga_girl

 

Now it’s time to share some exciting news about a vision that Megs & I have been working on together…….

14359852_10154467129198788_231569328_o

Yoga & Nutrition Workshop

Tuesday 18th October 7-9pm

Location: 11 Fieldgate Drive, Orangeville

Cost: $40 per person

In this two-hour workshop you will learn the fundamentals of holistic nutrition and healthy eating as well as explore the fundamentals of yoga with a grounding practice focused on floor based asanas, breath work & a guided meditation. All levels of practice welcome.

Contact Megs or Mel to register. Space is limited.

Melanie Grime is a holistic nutritionist at the Collective Health Clinic serving the Orangeville, Dufferin, Wellington and Caledon areas. Melanie Grime RHN treats everyone as an individual with their own specific needs and helps clients suffering from health issues by looking for the root cause of symptoms and working with them to reach their health and nutrition goals. She specializes in weight loss, hormonal issues, detox, meal plans, nutritional consulting and family nutrition.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

