Happy Earth Day!

Lorax Earth Day

Most of my blogs are about nutrition but this week, in celebration of Earth Day I wanted to write about how you can get your kids involved with celebrating the Earth.

In our house we often discuss ways we can be kind to the earth, here are just a few:

  • Turning the lights off when we leave a room
  • Not leaving the water running when we are brushing out teeth
  • Not leaving appliances plugged in when they are not being used
  • Recycling
  • Composting
  • During the night following the rule ‘if it’s yellow, let it mellow’

Another way is teaching your kids about where food comes from, this can mean planting your own garden or by taking them to the farmers market and get them to speak to the farmers directly and ask questions. This will not only help them understand the difference between a whole food and a processed food but will also show them that fruits & vegetables aren’t grown on a supermarket shelf!

If your kids are picky eaters, getting them involved with their food and where it comes from can help them try new things and make them feel empowered. If you want some other tips to get your picky one to eat, come and see me, I have lots of geat ideas for you to try J

3 books that I use with my kids to teach them how to be kind to the Earth are:

  • How to Help the Earth by the Lorax – Dr Seuss
  • Wonderful Earth – Nick Butterworth & Mick Inkpen
  • See Inside Planet Earth – An Usborne Book – Katie Daynes & Peter Allen

So why not sit down with your kids today and talk about 1 or 2 changes that they can be involved in to help out the Earth not only today but every day.

I am going to leave you with a quote from Lorax because, well I couldn’t say it much better myself

“If we work together, the earth will get better. The land will be clearer. The soil will be wetter. The sun will shine brighter. The trees will be greener. The sky will be bluer. The air will be cleaner. And next time I speak for the trees, fish and birds. I know in my heart I’ll need only two words. For all that you’ve done and for all that you will do. I’m the Lorax and I say a great big Thank You!”

Leave a Reply

